Whistler Molten Experience 2015

11193301_10153899521958902_4830712753539742042_n

In May I attended Whistler Molten Experience, a bead retreat that included demos and classes. It was held at Edgewater Lodge on beautiful Green Lake.

IMG_8438 IMG_8375

The featured headliner was Heather Trimlett.  Heather demonstrated many useful techniques such as laying down a perfect footprint of glass, making twisties, and her famous disk bead.

IMG_8353

Beth Williams demoed using dichroic glass.

IMG_8384

Melanie Rowe and Deb Tarry demoed using molds.

IMG_8320

IMG_8312

Alexx Cheng demoed his beadmaking techniques and also talked about his business in Thailand that makes the lampwork beads for Pandora.

IMG_8395

There were classes in wire wrapping and glass fusing given by Henry and others. This is my fusing class project ready to be fused.

IMG_8374

The Whistler Molten Experience was a lot of fun. I met many nice people and the demos were informative and interesting. I only wished for more torches there to practice on, but I did get some time in. Yes. I will go again some day.

 

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whistler Molten Experience 2015

  1. I like the helpful information you supply for your
    articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check once more here frequently.
    I’m slightly certain I’ll be informed many new stuff proper
    here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts
    from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get
    my own site now 😉

  3. No dude más y consulte toda la información precisa por medio de nuestra web.
    Rellene el formulario en un par de clicks. https://hamishlowman1.wordpress.com/2016/11/14/limpiezas-edelweis/

  4. bet365 says:

    Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me
    to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

