Danse Macabre Blog Hop

                                           danse3

Lee Koopman of Strega Jewellry started a challenge: “The challenge?   Pick a spooky or scary or creepy representation from a Halloween type character as your inspiration.   It can be really scary or it can be generic, like “a witch”.  It can be cute, like Mavis, Dracula’s daughter  from Hotel Transylvania.  It can be a zombie or a mummy. It can be Elvira, that Queen of the Night or your favorite vampire.   Make something.  It does not have to be jewelry.   It can be decorations or some other type of craft.  It can be a costume.   Make it, show it off and tell us about it.  How will you celebrate at our dance?”

I chose an owl for my Halloween type character. Old myths claim owls provide transportation for witches if a broom is not available. Myths claim witches can turn into owls and disappear up the chimney. A hooting owl means witches are approaching or a death will occur.

I decided to make a necklace and used a polymer clay cabochon by Sculpted Windows. I beaded around the cabochon with seed beads and made a rope using triple spiral rope stitch.

IMG_0243

Please go to Strega Jewellry for a list of participants in this blog hop and do visit their sites.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Danse Macabre Blog Hop, Halloween, handmade jewelry, necklace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Danse Macabre Blog Hop

  1. Tammy Adams says:

    What a fun necklace. Such great colorful beading. I don’t think I’ve heard about witches riding owls before. That’s a pretty neat image. 🙂

  2. Deb Fortin says:

    love the mix of colours you used. I have not heard of the story of owls and witches either. I must do some further reading. I love owls . used to have a collection of them .

  3. Great colors! So festive and happy! Owls are a perfect choice for this time of year with their mysterious lore and majestic appearance. Heck, owls are great for any time of year, LOL. What a great pendant and necklace!

  4. What a beautiful necklace! And I loved learning a new tidbit about owls.

  5. gloria allen says:

    Absolutely beautiful. I love all the pretty colors.

  6. sam w says:

    Such a beautiful piece of beading i love the colours blending out from the gorgeous focal, the owl and leaves just cry out Autumnal spookiness.

  7. Love, love, LOVE the color choice!!!

  8. amemedesigns says:

    Beautiful! I love the spiral bead rope!

  9. Dini says:

    Thanks for warning me for approaching witches… I did not know that! Love the beadwork.

  10. windbent says:

    Wow. Great color and your design really shows off the focal.

  11. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times
    it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a superb job with this.

    Additionally, the blog loads super fast for me on Firefox.

    Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

