Bead Soup Blog Party

I was up the last 2 nights into the wee hours finishing my piece. I was using a beadweaving technique new to me. The necklace and earrings were inspired by the work of Sally Sersich, Sarah Klopping, and Kate McKinnon. I used the focal, the clasp, and many of the beads I received from my partner, Hilary Frye (http://www.fryestyle.com). I added lampwork beads that I had made, seed beads, Czech beads, and rose quartz beads.

Please click on the

Image

Image

Image

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, Gay Massender, Kris Schaible, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. In September, 2016 I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Bead Soup Blog Party

  1. Annita says:

    love the red focal your color combinations!

  2. Denielle says:

    Beautiful work, it must have been very time consuming! Did you make the face beads, too? Those are so cute.

  3. FryeStyle says:

    Inge! Great work! I love the combination of beads along with the beadweaving. So very festive and fun! The colors make me happy! Thanks for being my partner!

  4. Tanya says:

    Wow jumps right off the page.What a happy set.Lovely Love and hugs Tanya

  5. The bright reds and pale pink evoke cherry blossoms to me… especially the earrings !

  6. Marla Gibson says:

    Fantastic pieces! I love all the texture and color! Stunning! ❤

  7. Eleanor says:

    Love those colors together, and the bead weaving gives it such texture.

  8. Perl-eni says:

    Great work!
    Fantastic pieces!

  9. Marti C. says:

    Oh WoW, what a statement! Fantastic beads and I love the way you put it together! Great job!

  10. Wow – an explosion of color and texture – love it!

  11. CraftyHope says:

    Oh neat!!! That necklace has such an interesting texture. I’m guessing it’s from that new technique that kept you up late. Whatever it’s from, it definitely draws the eye. Very cool!!

  12. WOW but I love that! just my style — funky and whimsical! And I’m pleased you used a technique you’ve not used before! Way to go!

  13. beeetreebyme says:

    This is wonderful ! It will be like a party every time you wear it !
    Great soup
    m.e. 🙂

  14. How stunning! Just gorgeous and fun!

  15. Wow, what a beautiful necklace. Love the red, white and black combination. It must have been a ton of work but oh so worth it. Great job!

  16. Lisa Chapman says:

    That is such a happy necklace! I love the pink beads mixed in with the red and black. It’s unexpected and whimsical. 🙂

  17. Dorota says:

    Very , very nice necklace, i enjoy it! Regards!

  18. Love the colours! I can totally see this setting off a simple black dress … and those face beads are just gorgeous =)

  19. Cheryl says:

    Wnderful design and color palette!

  20. Your necklace is so neat! I love love love the texture and colors!

  21. Jean Yates says:

    Completely totally fabulous!
    jean yates

  22. Karyn B says:

    Such bold color! Wonderful!

  23. Beti Horvath says:

    A cornucopia of goodness!

  24. Stunning pieces! I love red and pink, and these pieces sure deliver. So fun and whimsical – they make me happy looking at them!

  25. Beautiful set, I especially love the necklace and it’s boldness. I also really love the addition of your lampwork beads-compliments the design beautifully!

  26. Beautiful work on that necklace – It’s one of my favorites!

  27. GORGEOUS! I would wear that!!!

  28. barbesj says:

    Stunning statement necklace!! I love it too!

  29. Jenny says:

    Wonderfully colorful statement piece!

  30. what a great piece! I love the boldness of red throughout, and you really did your focal justice – the pattern didn’t overwhelm it which it totally could have. But it all came together beautifully!

  31. Fabulous necklace, the beadweaving is inspired.

  32. What a fun piece. I love the red and white combo and the mix of bead weaving. Great job.

  33. Alice says:

    What a fabulous piece! The colors are just gorgeous,and I can’t imagine the work that went into making this necklace!

  34. pinkchapeau says:

    So fun colorful and bright!! I am in love with that necklace, and your technique is beautiful.

  35. Ine says:

    This is a great design! I’m blown away, really! love it!

  36. Grubbi says:

    Very intricate! I always have a problem with red, but this looks amazing! Very eye catching deign!

  37. Regina says:

    Wow, what a fun necklace, a happy necklace. I hope all the bead work was fun too. You did a great job.

  38. Oh what a fantastic and breathtaking necklace You made !! intense in colors and the way You used the beads makes it playful and gorgeous!!

  39. Pink and red- what a great color combo. I would love to know the name of the beaweaving technique. It turned out very well indeed. No one would have guessed it was your first time using that stitch.

  40. Kay says:

    What a great piece. Very lush and lovely.

  41. mtrudinger says:

    Oh I love that combination of red white and pink! It’s very striking!

  42. Jami Shipp says:

    Nice play with the colors and I think you learned a valuable technique, just keep beading…

  43. Rachel Baron says:

    Love the colors and the technique! The patience you must have! 🙂

  44. Dana says:

    Wow! More red! The two of you make a great team! Soups well seasoned and stirred 🙂

  45. Beautiful vivid and lush color. Wow!

  46. Great job. I really like the color combo

  47. Lupe Meter says:

    That red color really pops!! You did an awesome job with your soup…great work!

  48. pepita says:

    Nice work and my favourite colour 🙂

  49. Wow, Inge, you continue to impress me. We were in the color surprise blog hop together and your technique impressed me with the necklace you made there, and now I find out you are also a lampworker! Holy cow lady, you are so talented! This necklace is so impressive, I am blown away AGAIN. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Amazing job! You are such an inspiration.

  50. Heidi Post says:

    Beautiful! I love Asian style – so right away I was drawn to this necklace. The colors are fantastic – the beads you created are GORGEOUS (why is your etsy empty, ahem?).

  51. Dana Lang says:

    Lovely!
    It reminds me of fireworks, we are having the festival of lights in Vancouver now, once a week a country does its best doing a fireworks show and at the end one country is the winner. It really is a beautiful thing to watch – this reminds me of the China show 🙂 Great job!

  52. Mags says:

    I love the asian feeling in your necklace 😀 Gorgeous colours!

  53. etsy…you have an etsy? Where is the link to your etsy on your blog??? I don’t see one! I would love to check out your beads!

  54. sandra says:

    Great necklace!

  55. says:

    great necklace, so original and funny!
    ciao dall’Italia

  56. Kathy Lindemer says:

    I absolutely love your necklace! I came across 1 bead of the oriental face bead. Can you tell me where to get more?

  57. What a fun piece!!! It’s so funky and wonderful!!! Great job!!!

  58. Alicia says:

    Oh, such a fun and happy necklace – it calls you ‘wear me! wear me!’ 🙂

  59. Pingback: My Bead Table Blog Hop | Inge's Blog

  60. Cute! I ve never tried weaving myself! I’m actually organising a mass bead soup where all the crafters get the same set of beads 🙂 i think it ll be really cool too see what 10s or even 100s of people make with the same beads! planning to send out the beads 2 aug with designs revealed end aug. Would be cool if u d like to take part (details on https://hapinesswherever.wordpress.com/bead-soup/) 🙂

Leave a comment