My Bead Table Blog Hop

Welcome to the My Bead Table Blog Hop!
All of the participants received a set of beads from Lisa Lodge‘s worktable bead dish. Lisa’s challenge was to combine beads from her work-table bead dish and my bead stash into a “unique and fun design.” Here are the beads I received from our host:
My colors were purple, pink, silver, off white, and black. The beads were glass, metal, and plastic. I had never used plastic beads before, but found their light weight made them perfect for my dense design. I added more beads in these colors including many of my own lampwork beads. I used a beadweaving technique from a tutorial by Kate McKinnon in “Step by Step Jewelry”.

Be sure to check out the other creations in this blog hop:

Audrey Belanger, Dreams of an Absolution
Molly Alexander, Beautifully Broken Me
Ginger Bishop, lilmummy likes…
Tanya Boden, Fusion Muse
Michelle Buettner, Mishel Designs
Eleanor Burian-Mohr, The Charmed Life
Mikala Coates, Maybe Just Perhaps
Marlene Cupo, Amazing Designs
Kathleen Douglas, Washoe Kat’s
Mary Anne Klinglesmith Flesch, Hand Crafted Serenity
Therese Frank, Therese’s Treasures
Mary Govaars, MLH Jewelry Designs
Tanya Goodwin, A Work in Progress
Tina Holden, Polymer Clay Bytes!
Shelly Joyce, Au jour le jour
Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations
Kathy Lindemer, Bay Moon Design
Susan Lloyd, Designs by Susan
Cynthia Machata, Antiquity Travelers
Inge von Roos, Inge’s Blog
Kristen Stevens, My Bead Journey
Sonya Stille, Dreamin’ of Beads
Christine Stonefield, Sweet Girl Design
Toltec Jewels, Jewel School Friends
Norma Turvey, Moonlit Fantaseas
Sandra Wollberg, City of Brass Stories
Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist (our host)
About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Bead Table Blog Hop

  1. Wendy says:

    wow, what a beautiful piece!

  2. Cynthia says:

    So luscious and gorgeous! colors are amazing in this piece!

  3. Monique U says:

    You have given me a new appreciation of the colour purple, Inge! What a beautiful creation… and I appreciate your pointer about using plastic beads to make the dense design lighter!

  4. What a beautiful creation, Inge! I love the use of the colors, and the metal sprinkled throughout. Thank you so much for being in the hop!

  5. I love purple and I love how it looks with the different colors added. Your bracelet is stunning!

  6. Great piece, love the colors you used. And you used the,spikes white beads so well. I couldn’t figure out how to make them work at all.

  7. What a gorgeous design! Love the colors and textures and the technique you used as well. Simply beautiful!

  8. Marlene says:

    Your creation is outstanding. It is a pleasure looking at it, and believe me I have been again and again!!!

  9. Wow Inge – what a fabulous design! The colors are terrific, and the design itself is simply stunning. I love the beadweaving technique you used and how it adds so much texture to the finished piece. Beautiful!

    🙂 Molly

  10. Ginger B. says:

    Ok you are it for this blog hop. Every time I do one of these hop/challenges I find someone who just changes the way I think about something. This time it is you. I hate pink and purple and girly type things, but not this. I like simple & uncomplicated, but I adore this. I do not have the ability to express how amazed I am by this design. Lots of people make this kind of thing, but you did it so artistically. True wearable art! Oh and I must add I love the bowl your soup was in too.

  11. ingetraud says:

    Thank you everyone for your kind remarks. I worked on this piece for many hours and am glad to feel appreciated.

  12. jelveh says:

    Hey girl friend, how did I miss this…sorry I did not see it sooner, I saw you make these beads, this so lovely, you have to have to teach me how to make this necklace, lovely…

Leave a Reply

