Third Bead Peeps Swap n Hop

Welcome to the third annual Bead Peeps Swap n Hop. Linda Anderson again organized it. Linda matched the participants with partners. We sent each other beads to create jewelry. My partner is Kelly Hosford Patterson .

Kelly sent me a wonderful bead soup. The picture doesn’t do justice to the fantastic raku cabachon made by WondrousStrange. It is more detailed and has a muted gold shine. Kelly also included some beautiful sari silk, pearls, and a copper key-shaped finding.

img_9763

The fun of bead swaps are that you are placed out of your comfort zone by working with colors and/or materials you are not used to. Sari silk was challenging for me as I have rarely worked with it. Incorporating the pearls with the sari silk was also challenging. I didn’t know how I was going to set the cabachon.

I ended up making a necklace. I used everything except the copper key. I also made lampwork beads in coordinating colors. I started the necklace by chemically bonding a bail to the cabachon. I strung it on to the sari silk. I made small circles of the pearls with copper wire. I strung those and my lampwork beads on to the sari silk and made knots in between beads. I bought the interesting clasp from a local bead shop, Sew Beadazzled.

IMG_0793

I love how it turned out. I wore it yesterday and was complimented.

Thank you Linda for organizing the swap!

Thank you Kelly for these wonderful beads!

Please visit the other Swap n Hop participant’s creations by clicking on Linda Anderson’s site. Be sure to also visit Kelly’s site to see what she made with the beads I sent her. Kelly and another jewelry maker made jewelry with almost the same items as she sent me. What fun!

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Bead Peeps Swap n Hop, beadmaking, handmade beads, handmade jewelry, jewelry, Kelly Hosford Patterson, lampwork beads, lampworking, necklace, raku, Uncategorized, WondrousStrange and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Third Bead Peeps Swap n Hop

  1. Lori schneider says:

    Beautiful. Necklace love it

  2. I’m in awe that you made all those beads to go with it. Wow! Your beads combined with that focal are sure to elicit many, many more compliments. Beautiful!!

  3. Christina says:

    Your necklace is very pretty! I like how the lampwork beads look strung on the sari silk.

  4. Kathy Lindemer says:

    My favorite is the house necklace. I love the colors in it. It is such a fun piece!

  5. Hi Inge, Your necklace is wonderful. The lampworked beads that you created were the perfect accents to that focal. Great job using your swap beads.

  6. Beautifully done Inge!!! i love the way you strung everything! Great Job!!

  7. Nelly May says:

    That is one beautifully designed necklace. Simply divine.

  8. Kristina says:

    I love that you made beaded beads with the gray. A great piece.

  9. jewelsofsayuri says:

    The components flow together very well in the piece. good job

  10. Linda says:

    HO-LY GORGEOUS! Are you KIDDING?!! This piece is IN-FREAKING-CREDIBLE! I hope you submit this to a magazine….it is just….I can’t even…*speechless*

  11. How beautiful. I really love what you did with the pearls, to make them into beads like that is clever. I really adore that key, I hope you can find the perfect thing to make with it in the future. Your lamp work beads are gorgeous!

  12. That necklace is simply striking!

  13. The idea with the pearls is very creative, love these spacers! I love your lampwork beads and how you used the sari silk – it’s not too visible and at the same time the necklace is sure very flexible and must lay perfectly!

  14. Love what you did with your stash.. Pearls look great with the clasp. well done

  15. Rachel says:

    That necklace is drool worthy! I love how you reimagined the pearls, and just everything about it is great!

  16. sam w says:

    Beautiful necklace, love how you used the little pearl beads.

  17. freebird7100 says:

    Love how you encorporated your beads with hers, looks awesome

Leave a Reply

