Ninth Bead Soup Blog Party- Bead Hoarders Edition

Welcome to the Ninth Bead Soup Blog Party! Lori Anderson organized it.  Lori matched all of us up with partners. We sent each other beads that we had been hoarding in order to create jewelry. According to Lori “I would like to start 2017 by opening our hearts to hope and beauty and true gift-giving. I don’t want people to send just anything, but something they love and would imagine brightening the day of someone. The beads do not have to be expensive, but should be exceptional in some way”.

My partner is Terry Murphy Matuszyk. Terry sent me this gorgeous and exceptional bead soup including two raku pendants by Harry Wood along with an assortment of vintage Czech and Japanese beads. I love the colors of these beads.

img_9653

I made two necklaces using each pendant as the focal.

I made a silver wirework necklace using the heart focal with the vintage Czech and Japanese beads from Terry and a few of my lampwork beads. I am happy with the necklace, but plan to apply a patina for a more rustic look.

FullSizeRender 2

I used the house pendant for the second necklace, which is my favorite. I strung a combination of my lampwork beads and beads from Terry, adding a copper clasp and chain.

FullSizeRender

Thank you Terry, for these wonderful beads! They truly are exceptional and I enjoyed using them very much.

Be sure and check out what Terry made with the beads I sent her. You can see what she made here. Please visit the other Bead Soup Party participant’s creations by clicking on Lori Anderson’s site.

 

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in art glass, Bead Soup Blog Party, handmade beads, handmade jewelry, jewelry, lampwork beads, necklace, raku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Ninth Bead Soup Blog Party- Bead Hoarders Edition

  1. pinkchapeau says:

    Hello, Inge, I am so happy to see what you made. I LOVE them both!!! The house necklace is so colorful and playful. I am very partial to the heart necklace, and I really appreciate how you pulled in so many of the vintage beads. I see some of your lampwork beads mixed in, too, and I think they are the perfect accompaniment. Thanks for being my partner this year, and for sending me such lovely beads….and for making such beautiful creations with the ones I sent.

  2. Fun fun fun your creative eye got your soup boiling hot ….very happy colorful pieces ….I like a lot

  3. Your work has such a lovely boho feel to it!

    Are you selling your lampwork anywhere at the moment, by the way? I absolutely fell in love with the tree bead you sent Terry.

  4. beadlove says:

    Both of your necklaces are beautiful. They are so fun, happy and full of color.

  5. Hi Inge. both of your necklaces are beautiful. You made great designs with your swap beads.

  6. Alenka says:

    Hi Inge, Love your colorful necklaces!
    Alenka

  7. Ann says:

    Both of your designs are great! I have to say the heart necklace is my favorite, such cheerful, fun colors:)

  8. Elisabeth Matouschek says:

    Very nice work!

  9. sjmcclelland says:

    Both necklaces are lovely.

  10. Dorota says:

    great pieces, especially the first necklace, congrats!

  11. You did a beautiful job. Thanks for sharing so much inspiration with us.

  12. Tracy S. says:

    What a beautiful soup and such inspiring pieces. I love that little house – too cute for words!

  13. CJ Bauschka says:

    Awwwwww both of your designs are so adorable, just love them!!!

  14. windbent says:

    I am a big Ocsarcrow (Harry Wood) fan and hoard his pieces often. I think you did a great job with them; so much color and both pieces are eye catching.

  15. Melissa says:

    Really lovely Inge – I especially like the house necklace, I can see why it’s your favourite!

  16. jewelsofsayuri says:

    The house necklace is so cute and it looks like a painting

  17. Barb Fernald says:

    That house pendant is so sweet. I love how you used it. The copper goes so well with it. Nice wirework chain with the heart pendant too. I think your idea of applying patina to the silver is spot on! Beautiful work.

  18. At first, I was drawn to the messy wrap of the first pendant – then I started to think about what “home” means & changed my mind about which I liked more. They’re both beautiful – for different reasons…

  19. Liz says:

    Both necklaces ooooze joy and love. How delightful!

  20. Nice work! Beautiful!

  21. sam w says:

    Absolutely wonderful pieces both necklaces are gorgeous.

  22. Rachel says:

    I love the lampwork bead you used in the chain on the first necklace. It brings it all together.

  23. They’re both so sunny and buoyant. What great eye candy! I bet you’ll be smiling whenever you wear these (while receiving loads of compliments I’m sure). Your lampwork beads are beautiful, and adding them to your soup makes a great combination. Lovely.

  24. Both of your necklaces are great, but the second one is my favorite too! I like how well you integrated the mix of beads into both of the necklaces. Excellent!

  25. Dyanne Everett-Cantrell says:

    I love the little house! You necklaces a great designs. Fabulous job!

  26. Carrie Stalcup says:

    Oh, what fun designs, Inge!

Leave a Reply

