Third Annual Bead Peeps Swap n Hop- My Partner

img_0770

I am participating in the Bead Peeps Swap N Hop, hosted by Linda Anderson, for the third time. Again, participants have been paired up with other jewellery designers and each will send the other a package of beads, a clasp, and a focal piece. Participants then create one or more pieces of jewellery with the items received.

My partner is Kelly Hosford Patterson of PyxeeStyx – Traveling SideShow. Kelly lives in Long Beach, California.  She is a mixed media textural artist specializing in eco-couture and artisan jewelry. Kelly enjoys creating whimsical one-of-a-kind pieces, collage style, out of whatever supplies she has on hand. She would like to inspire others to “go green” with her creative recycling ideas.

Kelly uses art beads in her jewelry. For these earrings Kelly used a mix of free-form lampwork glass pebbles, made by Leza Harary, in shades of cotton candy skies and lively Cabernet red. She also used horn beads. All were “stacked wabi sabi atop fruity and festive enameled paddles by Barbara Steffen with murini patterns reminiscent of citrus wheels. Accented with tufts of tattered sari silk in rich Merlot, they hang 3 inches long on handmade copper ear wires.”

img_0771

Kelly made this necklace using a little heart tin that was a treasured gift from one of her girls when she was a camp counselor at around age 14.
“The little poppy tin has been upcycled and transformed with handmade artisan paper, and Guilder’s Paste. The first coin, a vintage Asian one, is placed within, to begin the flow of prosperity.
Hung on tattered, printed sari silk, knotted with large Venetian glass swirled floats, and chunky vintage beads withe the Chinese symbol for longevity, deeply carved into them. The Kanji for Peace is carved in bone, and guarded by a Chinese Foo dog in the form of a vintage brass casting, with a rich red patina, and accented with antique Chinese silver bells.
An African bronze cage bead, and an African glass trade bead round out the mix. Finishing with a flourish of double red tassels. It closes with a hand formed copper hook and sari silk loop. The beaded silk cord is 30 inches long, and the vessel pendant hangs 8 inches from the top of the center bead down.”

img_0772

Kelly made this beautiful necklace out of copper.

img_0773

Kelly’s jewelry is available for purchase on Etsy and Facebook jewelry designer’s open market:

Kelly’s jewelry can also be seen on Instagram.

I hope Kelly will enjoy using the beads I send her. I am sure I will like what she sends me.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Bead Peeps Swap n Hop, Kelly Hosford Patterson, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Third Annual Bead Peeps Swap n Hop- My Partner

  1. loner says:

    very nice i like the swapping part.

Leave a Reply

