Second Bead Peeps Swap n Hop

This is the second annual Bead Peeps Swap n Hop. Linda Anderson again organized it. Linda matched the participants with partners. We sent each other beads to create jewelry. My partner is Claire Fabian.

Claire sent me a wonderful soup including some ceramic beads and a copper clasp she made herself. There are a variety of great glass beads, mostly from the Czech Republic. There are also stone and ceramic beads. Claire included some beautiful sari silk and lace.

image

I made 3 necklaces.

For my first necklace I used many of the Czech glass beads as well as the ceramic focal bead and copper clasp from Claire. I added some of my own lampwork beads and more Czech beads. I made the front of the necklace using a macrame technique I learned from Stephanie Sersich. I first used some of the sari silk for the back, but found it needed something heavier so I used chain. I love this necklace and plan to wear it often.

image

For my second necklace I made a focal pendant with one of my lampwork beads and a copper and resin pendant by Jade Scott.  A variety of Czech beads from Claire completed the necklace. This is my favorite. It is light and easy to wear.

image

 

For my third necklace I used a variety of beads from Claire, a few of my lampwork beads, and handmade copper chain. Claire made the ceramic focal beads.

image

image

Thank you Claire for these wonderful beads. I still have some left over. I plan to make earrings with the cool insect wings.

Please visit the other Swap n Hop participant’s creations by clicking on Linda Anderson’s site.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Second Bead Peeps Swap n Hop

  1. Natalie says:

    Beautiful ! I was lucky enough to have Claire as my partner a couple of years ago. You did a wonderful job

  2. Kathy Lindemer says:

    I love the copper chain with Claire’s beads. It is my favorite of your wonderful pieces. Lovely colors!

  3. All three necklaces are so beachy and beautiful. I love the way you combined your lamp work beads with the ceramic bead and glass, so much to look at and admire, just gorgeous!

  4. DROOOLLLLL – that first necklace is so much gorgeousness!

  5. Susan says:

    I love all your pieces – beautiful colors! Especially love that first Czech glass necklace.

  6. Gorgeous colour combinations – I love how you paired them all together & I ♥ your bumpy lampwork beads!

  7. Oh gosh, I just love all of the necklaces! They looks so great! The first one is really cool, especially since I am fascinated with structure! My favorite actually is the last one! It looks so rich in colour and beautiful with the heavy copper chain!

    I also have a lot of your beads (you were really generous, thank you again!) still to use 🙂 You really pushed me in some directions and I learned a lot by that!

  8. Linda says:

    Inge – we had the same thing in our brains…. check out my bracelet =) You know what they say – great minds think alike! =) But truly – your pieces are *STUNNING*! each one is so unique and gorgeous in it’s own right. You did SUCH a wonderful job!

    Linda
    http://fromTheBeadBoard.blogspot.com

  9. Christina says:

    Love the whale and sea shell pendant necklaces! Verry pretty!

  10. Marianne Baxter says:

    Love the colors and how the theme of the beach worked so well. Great job

  11. Rachel says:

    I’m really loving that copper chain! And what a cute little whale.

    Rachel
    http://www.mintmonarch.com

  12. Hi Inge, All of your designs are fabulous. The first necklace is so lush and showstopping, but my favorite is the last one. It looks comfortable to wear.

  13. Shaiha says:

    Beautiful designs! That first necklace is so lush but I do have to say that the second stole my heart with that focal.

  14. Divya says:

    I somehow cant figure out knotting at all, but you have done a fab job with the blue necklace and the copper chain is fabulous, where is it from?

  15. kraftymax says:

    I love them all! The little shell ‘poking out’ of the neckalce is my favorite…oh no, the elephant is…oh…they both are!! You did a GREAT job!! AMAZING SWAP!! ~KM http://www.kraftymax.net/bead-peeps-swap-n-hop-2016/

  16. Robin Kae Reed says:

    I really Love all of your designs!! The last one with the hand made chain and the Beautiful beads from Claire is my favorite!! Amazing work! Be Blessed!

  17. Love that first necklace.. all the colours of blue and green.. my all time fav colour combos.
    Nice beachy feel.. Well done..

  18. Veralynne says:

    Great pieces! I too love the first necklace, I am so drawn to the blues and greens in it. Great job!

  19. Beautiful collection ! Your designs are amazing, and I specially love the third necklace . Such lovely beads and copper chain . Gorgeous!!

  20. I love all the pieces you have made BUT the first one is so special!

  21. Love the colors, and the beachyness of it, especially that cluster necklace…WOW!

  22. Love the summery feel of all the pieces! The beads and designs are so beautiful that it’s difficult to choose between the lush and more modest look but I tend to like the last necklace most of all (I think)!

  23. Kari Asbury says:

    Great pieces Inge! Love each of the designs and how different they are…hard to choose a favorite they are each so great and all look fantastic on you!

Leave a Reply

