Kansas City and Sara Sally LaGrand class

My friend, Linda Schauble, had been wanting to share her home town, Kansas City, with me. Stephanie Sersich was teaching a beadmaking and jewelry making class there so we decided to go.  A friend of Linda’s, Mollie Maresch, was renting the house that Linda had inherited from her mother in Leawood, Kansas and we were invited to stay with her and her family. They were all lovely and welcoming. It was cold at first and even snowed, but was mostly in the 60s. We got there several days before the class and got some KC barbeque right away.

IMG_7667IMG_7665

We did a lot of sightseeing. My favorite place was the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art.

IMG_7687

IMG_7677

IMG_7673 IMG_7671 IMG_7672IMG_7670

We also attended Marble Crazy, a contemporary art glass marble show at Moon Marble Co. in Bonner Springs, KS. The show included artists from around the country, glass working demos, and a marble machine. It was great hanging out with other glass artists, shopping, and watching the demos. This is what I bought. The large marble is by Geoffry Beetem:

IMG_9385

We also enjoyed the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art

IMG_7695IMG_7698IMG_7700IMG_7701

and the Thomas Hart Benton Home and Studio

IMG_7747benton15878260455

and the National World War 1 Museum and Memorial

IMG_7711IMG_7710

One day we visited Parkville, Missouri, a historic town on the Missouri River about 5 miles north of Kansas City. There were unique shops and restaurants including antique stores and art galleries. There was a park on the river and Park University.

IMG_7714 IMG_7715 IMG_7721 IMG_7717

I was looking forward to Stephanie’s class, but it was cancelled at the last minute. There had been many snow storms on the eastern seaboard and Stephanie’s flight was cancelled. The class sponsored by Sara Sally LaGrand through Public GlassWorks Kansas City. Sara offered to teach me an individual class in making a lampworked corsage. Was I interested? Of course!

Here are some examples of Sara’s corsages:

IMG_7728

IMG_7733

The class was awesome! The first day  and morning of the second day was the lampworking portion. I learned to make glass pods, leaves, seeds, etc. at the end of wire. This was followed by wire working and assemblage. Sara also taught me some interesting reactions using silver glass.

IMG_7731IMG_7738

IMG_7722

Here is the corsage I made.

IMG_7734

I stopped at Heartland Bead Market in Overland Park, Kansas on my way home and they helped me fashion it into a necklace.

IMG_7739

If you have the opportunity to take Sara’s class – do it!  I highly recommend it.

On our last night in Kansas City we had barbeque.

IMG_7752

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in beadmaking, beadmaking class, handmade beads, Kansas City, lampwork beads, lampworking, lampworking class, Sara Sally LaGrand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kansas City and Sara Sally LaGrand class

  1. someseeawish says:

    Love the corsage, the colors, just beautiful. Looks like a wonderful class.

Leave a Reply

