First Bead Peeps Swap n Hop

Welcome to the first Bead Peeps Swap n Hop. Linda Anderson organized it and there are around 200 people participating.  Linda matched all of us up with partners. We sent each other beads to create jewelry. My partner is Deb Fortin of Mhoti Studio (formally Studio 24).  Here is my post about what she sent me.

Deb sent me a gorgeous soup including a metal focal bead and clasp she made herself.  I did not realize how generous she had been until I started creating my pieces. I made three necklaces and still have some beautiful beads left over.

For my first necklace I used the beautiful handmade pendant, square shell beads, and branch coral from Deb. I added some of my own lampwork beads, a copper clasp, and brass spacer beads. I love this necklace and plan to wear it often.

IMG_8291

For my second necklace I made a focal pendant out of a green semiprecious stone bead from Deb. I also used her beautiful handmade copper toggle clasp. The other bead I used from Deb were branch coral, serpentine and other green semiprecious stones. I added lampwork beads that I had made and glass spacer beads from the Czech Republic.

IMG_8292

I thought I was done, but there were many beads left and they called to me. For the third necklace I used a lampwork bead from Deb by a Canadian artist. I also used round semiprecious stones and labradorite coin-shaped beads that Deb had sent. I added some lampwork beads I had made a few years ago, some chain, and a clasp.

IMG_8287 IMG_8286

Thank you Deb for these wonderful beads.

Please hop over to Mhoti Studio to see what Deb made with the beads I sent her. I can’t wait to see what she has made.

Please visit the other first Swap n Hop participants to see their wonderful creations by clicking here.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to First Bead Peeps Swap n Hop

  1. I am so glad that you continued on to make the third design because it is incredible! I just love the play of colors.

  2. yoda14me2 says:

    OH I love them ALL! The orange piece – drooooooool. Oh my WORD! Just so GORGEOUS! And the 2nd piece – the clasp and the beads and the coral – magazine worthy, indeed! Lovely work!

    Linda
    http://fromTheBeadBoard.blogspot.com
    http://cherryOnTopDesign.co

  3. Tammy Adams says:

    Beautiful designs with a great selection of color palettes. That last one really speaks to me. Maybe because it goes with so much in my closet, LOL. Well done.

  4. Deb Fortin says:

    wow. i would wear any of these with pride. but i must say i am really delighted with the last one. I have had that focal bead for a few years but had nothing that did it justice. so glad you had some beads that go with it so incredibly well. I will continue to make more pieces with the beads you sent me but as my blog said i was having issues with my brain and it wanting to take control when I should have let the beads lead ME. I will post these as they get finished

  5. Oh wow! I love the colours in the first necklace! They are all beautiful, but those in particular are stunning 🙂

  6. sam w says:

    What a lovely lot of gorgeousness , i love the combination of coral and serpentine in your second necklace and your third piece looks wonderful with all the lamp work beads.

  7. Rachel says:

    I love the colors you chose for the first necklace to draw out the beauty of the focal! Well done!! Also loving the colors in the third necklace!

  8. Kathy Lindemer says:

    The colors in your jewelry are really wonderful together. The designs are well done. You have some great pieces here.

  9. all beautiful necklaces! But I especially love that last one with the combination of lampwork and labradorite!

  10. Oh My, What beautiful necklaces. Great usage of color. The last necklace is breathtaking. Fantastic,beautiful pieces.

  11. Marianne says:

    Love your use of colors on these necklaces. I really can’t pick a favorite

  12. Love the colors in all of these. Great combinations and pallettes. So pretty.

  13. Kari Asbury says:

    Great designs! As always you create wonderful color and style combinations.

  14. Your colour combos are great.. Love all of them are stunning..

  15. Mowse Doyle says:

    Your combinations of stones and glasswork are beautiful ! Each necklace has such wonderful personality.

  16. Like everybody else, I was attracted by the color combinations – bright and bold! I also like the mixture of shapes and versatility of the designs – the first and third necklace can go with many outfits, while the second (and my favorite) is more demanding 🙂

  17. Deb Fortin says:

    Hi again Inge, I just reread your post and want to clarify some descriptions for two of the stones you used. In the middle necklace with the serpentine focal , those small grey-green faceted beads are Labradorite. In the blue necklace, (#3) those coin beads are actually demoterite.

  18. Isn’t amazing how your lampwork matched the one in your package so perfectly? I love your necklaces; all of them are beautiful, but I am somewhat partial towards the last one, the colours speak to me so clearly.

  19. Hannah Trost says:

    You have a talent for bringing wonderful color combinations together – loved them all!

  20. Hi Inge, All three of your necklaces have such different character. The first is earthy, the second bright and playful and the third is organic. The third is my favorite.You did a great job using your swap beads. I think your lampworked beads are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

