Bead Peeps Swap ‘n’ Hop- About my Partner

bead-peeps-2015-blog-hop-badge

Linda Anderson took on the enormous task of organizing and hosting this blog hop, which is similar to Lori Anderson’s Bead Soup Blog Party  that is now on a hiatus. Participants have been paired up with other jewellery designers (from all over the world) and each will send the other a package of beads, a clasp, and a focal piece. Participants then create one or more pieces of jewellery with the goodies. Thank you Linda!

My partner is Deb Fortin of Studio 24. Deb lives in Jasper, Ontario, Canada, a small hamlet on the Rideau Canal. She started making jewelry when she was a young child making a pop ‘n’ snap necklace and a stretch candy necklace. She became interested in jewelry making again when, as an adult, she got a job at a local bead and art supply store. She decided that to sell the products she should learn what to do with them. This resulted in spending some of her pay check on beads. She now has a large stash of beads and findings and will share some with me. Yah!

Deb started out stringing beads. She still enjoys stringing and also now loves wirework. She makes all types of jewellery: necklaces, bracelets, earrings, anklets, etc. She enjoys making sets of coordinating items (called PARURE), but sells them individually because not everyone likes to wear matching sets.

Here are some gorgeous examples of Deb’s work:

DSCN5099 DSCN5102DSCN5017

Be sure to check Deb’s blog for more examples of her jewelry. http://studiok24.blogspot.com/

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

