Kristen Franzten Orr class at Snow Farm

Last March I took a class with Kristen Franzten Orr at Graceful Customs. I liked this class  so much that I decided to take another longer one in September, 2014 at Snow Farm- the New England Craft Program.

Snow Farm is located in Williamsburg, Massachusetts in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. According to their website, “Snow Farm is a special place where students come for solace and rejuvenation through learning a craft from master craftspeople.”

IMG_5994 IMG_6003 IMG_6004 IMG_6007IMG_6077IMG_6008

My sister, Angelika, joined me.

IMG_5990

We had a great class. We practiced holding both ends of the mandrel for better control. We made multi-layered striped cane for flowers, stems, and leaves. We made both round cane and flat cane. We also learned to make some interesting base beads. The week-long class provided plenty of time for practice. Here is Kristen demonstrating:

IMG_6014 IMG_6013

Here are the class members:

IMG_6094

We had an afternoon free and visited a local garden, Three Sisters Sanctuary, in Goshen, Massachusetts.

IMG_6027 IMG_6032 IMG_6046 IMG_6047 IMG_6050 IMG_6057 IMG_6059 IMG_6062  IMG_6066

We also visited Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts.

IMG_6107 IMG_6109 IMG_6110  IMG_6112 IMG_6113  IMG_6133IMG_6117

IMG_6118

Here is the lampwork studio where we spent our time. Snow Farm was a wonderful place to be immersed in beadmaking.

IMG_6070

Here are the beads I made:

IMG_6092

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in beadmaking, beadmaking class, handmade beads, Kristen Frantzen Orr, lampwork beads, lampworking class, Snow Farm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kristen Franzten Orr class at Snow Farm

  1. Thanks for the wonderful description of Snow Farm, Inge. Hope you come back – in 2015, we are hosting Sally laGrand, Libby Leuchtman, Jennifer Geldard, Stephanie Sersich and more! http://www.snowfarm.org

Leave a Reply

