Eighth Bead Soup Blog Party

Welcome to the Eighth annual Bead Soup Blog Party. Lori Anderson http://www.prettythingsblog.com/ organized it and there are nearly 500 people participating.  Lori matched all of us up with partners. We sent each other beads to create jewelry. My partner is Iveth Caruso of Creative Atelier. Be sure and check out what she made with the beads I sent her. You can see what she made here.

Iveth sent me these beads:

IMG_4488

She included at least 4 focal beads. Right away I made this:

IMG_5476IMG_5477

The dichroic pendant and leather cord were made for each other!

I used the metal enamel flower for the focal bead of my second necklace:

IMG_5472

IMG_5481

I also used many fire polished crystals, the clasp, and enameled metal beads from Iveth. I made some lampwork beads to go with the focal bead. This is my favorite piece. I have worn the necklace twice and have gotten many compliments.

Iveth also sent me two matching lampwork beads. I used one of two  beads as the focal of the third necklace I made:

IMG_5475

I also used a variety of metal beads, a clasp, and four large polymer clay beads from Iveth. I made lampwork beads with raised dots to go with the focal bead.

I have really enjoyed participating in this event.  The necklaces were fun to make. It is wonderful to see the creativity of such a diverse group of talented jewelry makers. I enjoy seeing what they were sent and how they chose to work with the beads to design unique pieces. It was so cool to receive a package of gorgeous and unusual beads! I am glad to have been teamed up with a great partner who has now become a new cross-country friend.  I am grateful to Lori for creating, hosting, and organizing the event. A huge thank you to Iveth for making this so much fun. I hope you like what I made with the beads you sent me.

Be sure and check out what the other participants have made with their bead soup! You can see the list here (scroll down to the end of the article). You can also see most of the jewelry creations on Pinterest here.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Eighth Bead Soup Blog Party

  1. Iveth Caruso says:

    I love the rose necklace you have made, and the simplicity of the leather and the dichroic bead. Also the beads yoyou made to complement the blue bead, genious! I am glad you enjoyed the challenge and had fun. Happy you are back, perhaps a post with lots of trip pics is coming up?
    Iveth

  2. Sarah says:

    Those are all beautiful, especially the one with the enamel flower focal. Such beautiful rich colours, and the metal spirals set it off perfectly!

  3. windbent says:

    Every time I pick a favorite, I change my mind. Very nice, wearable pieces.

  4. Love the floral metal focal necklace!! Your added lamp work beads set it off beautifully!! Now ai ma off to check out your lamp work!!

  5. Dorota says:

    all necklaces are great, but the last one is awesome!!!!!

  6. beadlove says:

    You made three beautiful necklaces. I’m finding that, although I love all styles, I am really drawn to the simple styles like your first necklace that let a focal bead really shine. Another BSBP participant called this the “throw on and go” style. Maybe that’s why I like it – easy to wear yet so pretty.

  7. Beautiful pieces, I love love love the bright necklace!

  8. Jackie Ryan says:

    Thank you so much for visiting me. I like all three of your necklaces they are lovely I especially love the blues and greens in your second necklace just my colours!
    Jackie

  9. Alenka says:

    Sometimes less is more and the first focal is so rich in color that you made it wearable with more different outfits keeping it simple, very clever! The second and the third necklace are very pretty, too! I think the second one is my favorite …
    Alenka

  10. Ann Sherwood says:

    Fun necklaces! My favorite is the second one, it looks like blue green candy:)

  11. I love your flowery necklaces – they are so cheerful and happy! Beautiful!

  12. Silke says:

    So nice lampwork necklace. I love the blue and green colour combination, thats really great.

  13. I really like that 2nd piece! Those beads are just gorgeous! Looks like you had a good time.ll

  14. Barb Fernald says:

    Nice job. I love that your first piece is so simple! I like the last necklace a lot, and the fact that you made all those lampwork beads to match the focal. Wow!

  15. So many beautiful purple colours in one necklace, depending on lightfall and daytime, I love it! Funny to see what we all choose as a favourite…

  16. My favorite is also the one with the rose…it does look so nice on too. You really did your partner proud. Beautiful work.

  17. coffeeaddict says:

    smitten with the bold design of your first necklace!

  18. Linda A says:

    Your purple piece took my breath away. I LOVE it! And I love that you added a photo of you =)

    Linda A.
    http://fromTheBeadBoard.blogspot.com
    http://cherryOnTopDesign.co

  19. Sandra says:

    Beautiful work! The colours are fabulous together, and they all came out beautifully 🙂 Love that you didn’t give into the ‘matching beads = earrings’ bug and broke up the pair for a focal instead 🙂

  20. jlwoolverton says:

    Beautiful and fun! 3 great looks!

  21. Silvia says:

    Love how you used your soup, the second necklace is so beautiful

  22. janine Lucas says:

    You did a wonderful job with your soup

  23. Such lovely work well done!

  24. Tammy Adams says:

    Beautiful designs. The blue and green necklace is such fun with all the colors, textures and shapes.

  25. christine says:

    Very pretty pieces – great job!

  26. Terri G. says:

    Cheery and bright designs…must me a reflection of the designer. You did a Soup-er Job with your Soup!

  27. wirednan says:

    Beautiful work, Inge. I love all of your necklaces but my fave is the purple one. such a lovely combination of beautiful purples.

  28. Such marvelous work you did with your soup ! I love all the vibrant and bright colors.you used. So nice and cheerful !

  29. Monique U says:

    Wow, Iveth sent you gorgeous components, and I love the beautiful colour combos you used in your lovely designs, Inge 🙂

  30. Hi Inge, You are right the leather and the dichroic bead were made for each other. My favorite is the necklace with the purple enameled flower focal. It is beautiful. The necklace with the lampworked focal says happy and fun to me. You did a great job using your soup.

  31. What great necklaces! I really love the first one. It is so simple & know that for me allowing a necklace to be simple is the hardest past. I also really like your rose necklace. Everything works together so well.

  32. CraftyHope says:

    The simplicity of the dicroic and leather necklace is so alluring. Yes, that leather goes with the pendant perfectly. As well, your other pieces are so lovely. Job well done!

  33. Veralynne says:

    Wow…excellent job! I love the first necklace…I am partial to purple!!! and the green one is stunning! I just love your work. Thanks for sharing!

    veradesigns.blogspot.com

  34. Kumi Fisher says:

    Beautiful pieces with complimenting colors. Lovely work!

  35. I like both the minimalist and more lavish design. You showed off the glass pendant with just a monochromatic leather cord but in the second you chose to make the focal pop, surrounded by many other chunky beads and again, color is important!

  36. Dana Hickey says:

    I love it when beads make themselves into something right away. Wonderful job!

Leave a Reply

