Hot Time in the Mountains

This September 26-29 I had the pleasure of attending a bead retreat at A Touch of Glass in Asheville, North Carolina called Hot Time in the Mountains. I cannot say enough good things about this event. It was a great time and I learned some new beadmaking techniques.  There was a fun meet-n-greet on Thursday night. On Friday and Saturday we watched demos and then made beads. On Sunday there was an auction for Beads of Courage, raffle and bead trading. The bead trading was a lot of fun.

There were four teachers who did demos and then we had many hours to practice the new techniques.

Jeri Warhaftig demoed beads using copper foil and dichroic glass and beads using enamel and copper leaf:

IMG_3623

Here are the beads she demoed:

IMG_3648

Marcy Lamberson demoed making a lampwork leafy branch bail and the acorn beads to hang from it:

IMG_3615

IMG_36191377103_3614697464128_850521258_n-1

Margo Knight demoed an eye bead:

IMG_3637

IMG_3644IMG_3642

 

Ali VandeGrift demoed her very large beads with intricate stringer work. She is 25 years old and has been torching for 10 years.

IMG_3646

IMG_3649

I enjoyed my stay in Asheville very much. I stayed at an Airbnb for a week in West Asheville. It was within walking distance of A Touch of Glass, a great coffee house- Battle Cat, and a great restaurant- Admiral. West Asheville reminded me of the Whittaker district of Eugene and the Live Oak district of Santa Cruz County.

West Asheville

IMG_3661 IMG_3657 IMG_3664 IMG_3656 IMG_3654 IMG_3659

I enjoyed hiking, sightseeing, and shopping for pottery and other fine crafts in the area. Downtown Asheville, the River Arts District, Black Mountain, and the area around Penland had wonderful galleries. I also visited some old friends, Cindy and Rob Greco, in Weaverville.

River Arts District

IMG_3605 IMG_3604 IMG_3603

Black Mountain

IMG_3672

Penland

IMG_3684 IMG_3688 IMG_3689

Toms Creek Falls

IMG_3679 IMG_3694

Blue Ridge Parkway

IMG_3670 IMG_3671 IMG_3668

It was a wonderful bead retreat and trip. I plan to return.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hot Time in the Mountains

  1. Marcy Lamberson says:

    Inge, what a wonderful blogpost about Hot Times! Loved meeting you and getting to know you. Hope to see you again- maybe at Jackie’s? best, Marcy

  2. Margo Knight says:

    Hi Inge! Really nice article! I love all the photos. Looks like you got to see a lot of the beautiful Asheville area. I really enjoyed meeting you at Hot Time, and hope I’ll see you again at the next one, or maybe at Fire on the Mountain in the spring. Both are always such fun events! Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

