Creating with Cabochons Blog Hop

Sally Russick of the Studio Sublime started this challenge-to create jewelry using a cabochon. I joined the challenge since I had made a dichroic glass cabochon, which was waiting to be made into a piece of jewelry. I had made several other cabochons and had glued on silver bails. This one had a raggedy edge though. I started out by gluing the cabochon to some sizing:

IMG_3200

I had been making jewelry using delicas and the peyote stitch so that is what I did. I also made four beaded beads out of the delicas. I made them into a necklace with a silk ribbon:

IMG_3534IMG_3535 IMG_3536

Here are the rest of the participants of this fun hop:

Host:  Sally Russick

D Lynne  Bowland

Alicia Marinache

Lynn  Jobber

Marde Lowe

Dawn Doucette

Mary K McGraw

Gloria Allen

Cheri  Reed

Sonya Stille

Elizabeth Owens Dwy

Veralynne   Malone

Tania Hagen

Lynsey  Brooks

Christina Miles

Holly  Westfall

Kathy  Lindemer

Patti Vanderbloemen

Therese Frank

Adrienne Berry

Liz   E

Tanty  Sri Hartanti

Ginger Bishop

Renetha Stanziano

Marlene  Cupo

Sandi Volpe

Sharyl McMillian-Nelson

Niky  Sayers

Mischelle Fanucchi

Tracy  Stillman

Skylar Bre’z

Ann Schroeder

Paula Kramer

Jess Green

Susan Kennedy

Stacie  Florer

Cathie  Carroll

Susan F.

Michelle Caballero

Sabine Dittrich

Kristina Johansson

Kimberly Sturrup-Roberts

Melissa  Meman

Cheryl McCloud

Michelle  Timms

Cindy  Pack

Lynda  Carson

 

Cynthia  Machata

Julia  Harris

Karin  Slaton

Ingrid  Anderson

Karin Grosset Grange

Jasvanti  Patel  

Inge  von Roos

Molly Alexander

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Creating with Cabochons Blog Hop

  1. lilisgems says:

    Stunning cabochon and I love the coloring you used in the beads! Amazing.

  2. Michelle says:

    Beautiful job and the beads you made are a nice addition!

  3. Beautiful, and I love your beaded beads!

  4. jlwoolverton says:

    I love the play of colour in your piece!

  5. beadlove says:

    I really love your necklace! Your cab is great and everything about the necklace complements it. I love how the beaded settings looks of a piece with the cab itself. Like a perfect little nest!

  6. Karin G says:

    Your beadwork is beautiful, the cab is really fascinating and you managed to create a wonderful necklace with it.

  7. Paula Kramer says:

    What a super-cool idea to thread the ribbon through your peyote beads to make your neck strap> I really like that. Your design shows lots of peyote power. Great job!

  8. Wow – you made the cabochon, the beaded bezel and the beaded beads! I am impressed! The colors you used are fantastic, and your bead weaving skills are obviously well-honed! Really beautiful work!

  9. Mary K says:

    What an interesting cab you used and your beadwork set it off beautifully.

  10. what a beautiful piece! the cab is gorgeous, and I love your beadwork – and the beaded beads with the sari silk – what a wonderful touch!

  11. Ginger B. says:

    I love the way you accented that gorgeous cabochon. The iridescent green reminds me of beetle and butterfly wings.

  12. Tracy says:

    Such a bold and colourful design, I love the peyote beaded beads and he sari silk is the perfect stringing material.

  13. I think it is great that you made the cab and then bezeled it and made a necklace.

  14. Therese says:

    Beautiful cab and I like your design too.

  15. The beads work so well with the cab. I like all of the additional beadwork done for the sari silk.

  16. Sally Russick says:

    Inge, I don’t know where to start, the color palette, the beautiful cabochon, your wonderful beadwork and how you made the little beaded cylinders to accent the ribbon, STUNNING!!! There is just so much to take in, LOVE IT!!!!!

    Thank you so much for participating in the challenge! Beautifully done!!

Leave a Reply

