JC Herrell Beadmaking Class

Last week I participated in a wonderful glass bead making class with JC Herrell, an acclaimed bead artist.

IMG_3392

IMG_3441

JC specializes in precision in shapes of beads and in stringers. She is also known for her colorful enamel beads.

IMG_9342a

JC made the commemorative bead for this year’s International Society of Glass Beadmaker’s Gathering.

jccb1sm-1

IMG_3396

I took JC’s class with three members of my beadmaking group, the Silicon Valley Fireflies: Heather Richman, Michelle Staedler, and Jackie Marr.

522003_10201031900751958_219171162_n-1

IMG_3437

The class was taught over a 3 day period at the Mendocino Art Center in beautiful Mendocino.

IMG_3385

IMG_3443IMG_3444
The class was technique – laden, beginning with learning to make a disc and apply enamel to it. We learned to apply enamel using a sifter, practiced stringer control, blew and used enamel shards, and made tie dye style beads with enamel stringers. Here are a few of the beads I made:

IMG_3447

On the first day of class JC invited us to a yummy pasta dinner and to see her studio. She lives in a redwood forest north of Fort Bragg.

IMG_3395

IMG_3397

Heather, Jackie, Michelle, and I also had fun visiting Mendocino and Fort Bragg. We ate at some wonderful restaurants: the McCallum House, the Albion River Inn, and Egghead’s. I enjoyed being able to walk everywhere in the village, hiking Mendocino Headlands, and visiting galleries.

IMG_3429 IMG_3428 IMG_3427 IMG_3422 IMG_3421 IMG_3407 IMG_3404 IMG_3403 IMG_3401 IMG_3400 IMG_3398 IMG_3386 IMG_3378 IMG_3379 IMG_3380 IMG_3381 IMG_3371 IMG_3375 IMG_3374

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in beadmaking, beadmaking class, handmade beads, JC Herrell, jewelry, lampwork beads, lampworking class, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to JC Herrell Beadmaking Class

  1. Just gorgeous! I can feel what a great experience it was!

  2. Dolores says:

    Wow, looks a fun time making beads with friends and awesome scenery.

    • ingetraud says:

      Yes. I hadn’t been to Mendocino in over 23 years and now plan to go back soon. We were lucky it was sunny. I think October has the best weather usually. Making beads was lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

