7th Annual Bead Soup Blog Party-My Soup has Arrived

I am participating in the 7th Bead Soup Blog Party hosted on by Lori Anderson. What is a Bead Soup Party Blog? Each participant is paired up with another person, beads are sent to each other and we make some jewelry. The only rules are you have to use the focal and the clasp. This time there are 500 participants and 3 weekend reveal dates. My date to post my piece is April 13.
My partner is Kari Asbury. Kari has always been a creative person, but about 13 years ago, she discovered her love of beads. She started making beaded wire for decorating wine and champagne glasses but soon moved to earrings, bracelets, and necklaces. She is self-taught and is able to use many jewelry-making techniques. Kari is a published jewelry designer. She has contributed several designs to Bead Trends Magazine. Kari also makes pendants out of wood, which she calls ephemera.  According to the dictionary ephemera is a class of collectable items not originally intended to last for more than a short time, such as tickets, posters, postcards, or labels. Kari appliques pictures onto wood to make lovely pendants. Included in my bead soup are two of these pendants.

IMG_3463

Kari has an Etsy Shop with many beautiful pieces of jewelry and ephemera pendants. She is even selling some of her pieces that were published. Kari sent me some pretty hand dyed sari ribbon. I have never used this and will be looking at her designs for ideas.wo

Here is the wonderful bead soup Kari sent me:

IMG_3463

Included are lampwork beads by Pink Beach, ceramic beads by Nan Emmett, and ceramic beads by Gaea. What an awesome soup!

Please check out Kari’s blog to see the bead soup I sent her.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7th Annual Bead Soup Blog Party-My Soup has Arrived

  1. Monique U says:

    Those tiles are lovely, Inge, like little stories waiting to be told. I’m anxious to see your design!

  2. Kari Asbury says:

    Lovely post Inge. I am anxious to see what you create. I’ve only been working with the sari for a few months but I really love it…so I couldn’t resist including a bit with your goodies. I hope you enjoy playing with it in your designs.

  3. Pingback: Third Reveal of Seventh Bead Soup Blog Party | Inge's Blog

  4. marcia says:

    love how the sari silk worked with your necklace, but I also love the fresh, bold red. it goes a treat with the pendant

Leave a Reply

