First Day of Christmas

Today is December 25 and I get to open gift number one in a gift exchange hosted by Lorelei Eurto. Gift one is from Lorelei!

DSC_0091

It is a set of 10 tin bead caps with a lovely blue on off-white flower design. I can’t wait to make some blue and white beads to go with them. I believe Lorelei hand cut the discs from old vintage floral tea tins.

Lorelei has been creating beaded jewelry since 2007. She also works full time at an art museum in upstate New York. Lorelei’s jewelry has been published in magazines such as Stringing, Easy Wire, Step by Step Beads, Step by Step Wire, and BeadStyle. Her designs are also in Chain Style by Jane Dickerson, Wire Style 2 by Denise Peck, and Enchanted Adornments by Cynthia Thorton. Lorelei recently published a book Bohemian Style Jewelry: 50 Designs using Leather, Ribbon and Cords with co-author Erin Siegel. Lorelei sells her jewelry on Etsy and on her jewelry website.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day of Christmas

  1. lorelei says:

    Thank you for the great blog posts!!! I hope you enjoy each day of the swap! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

