Patty Lakinsmith: Artisan Jewelry and Beadmaker

I have been involved in an exchange of beads, pendants, or components for making jewelry called the Twelve Days of Christmas. We are to open a package every day starting Christmas Day. It’s really eleven days, since I am number twelve. Last week I was getting a plethora of small packages in the mail. I was surprised to get one that was not part of the exchange.

It was a beautifully wrapped package from Patty Lakinsmith of Plays With Fire Designs.

DSC_0124

I had admired this pendant at Bargetto Winery Art Show. It is made on the end of a mandrel with some sort of silver glass and has a beautiful copper cap. I love it! The pendant came with a silver chain so I was able to put it on right away. It joins my small collection of pendants by some of my favorite beadmakers: Tom Boylan, Gail Crosman Moore, Hayley Tsang, Holly Cooper, John Winter, Beau Barrett, and now Patty Lakinsmith.

180427_10150397984120582_7617546_n

Patty lives near me in the Santa Cruz Mountains and we are in a lampworking group together-the Fireflies. Recently, I got to see her new studio. She has been making lampwork beads since 2003. Patty is also a mostly a self-taught jewelry designer, making things that she would like to wear, preferring to use components like fine silver wire, metal clay, fiber and glass to make pieces that are one of a kind.  She makes her own clasps and other components from metal clay (100% pure silver), copper and brass. Her jewelry tends to be fun, daring, different, and edgy. Patty sells her jewelry, tutorials, and beads in her Etsy shop.

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patty Lakinsmith: Artisan Jewelry and Beadmaker

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think that this is a exquisite artiicle you got there!

    Would it be ok if I like your blog on my facebook with your link and the header of the article:”Patty Lakinsmith: Artisan Jewelry and Beadmaker “?

    I visided this blog as I was searching cartilage jewelry and I think that I was extremely lucky
    for doing this.
    Best luck!
    Our Piercings for Cartilage Crew

Leave a Reply

