Summer Color Surprise Blog Hop Reveal

Welcome to the Summer Color Surprise Blog Hop!
All of the participants received a set of beads in different colors. The challenge was to create something with at least half of the beads we were sent. Here are the beads I received from our host, Lisa Lodge http://pineridgetreasures.blogspot.com/. My colors were copper, brown, beige, and a little pink. Included were glass, stone, pearl, and wood beads:
Image
I combined these beads with some of my own lampwork beads, copper,  and seed beads and used a technique called freeform beadweaving. This was the first time I had used this technique and it was a mess for a long time. It finally came together as a heavy, dense necklace. I like it and have worn it several times.ImageImage
Be sure to check out the blogs of the other jewelry artists in the hop:

About ingetraud

I make lampwork beads and jewelry. My other interests include traveling, reading, hiking, and collecting art and handcrafted items, especially pottery. I have always loved handmade things and have collected hand-thrown pottery since I was a teenager. I have done stained glass and weaving. I had been stringing beads into necklaces for a while when I attended a clay and glass show in Palo Alto. There was a beadmaker there whose work I fell in love with. I bought one bead to make into a necklace and decided I wanted to learn how to make glass beads. I took my first beadmaking class from Jackie Marr in Santa Cruz. After taking another class from Katie Stuart in Santa Barbara I set up my own studio and have not looked back. Beadmaking is like meditation for me. What has kept me interested is that there is always some new technique or color combination to learn or try. I have taken advanced classes from Sally Prasch, Marjorie Langston, Holly Cooper, Shirley Cook, Dolly Ahles, J.C. Herrill, Kristen Franzten Orr, Amy Waldman Smith, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Astrid Riedel, Amanda Muddimer, Melanie Moertel, Angela Meier, and Jennifer Geldard. I love combining my love of beadmaking and traveling by taking classes away from home. Last September I got to attend a bead symposium in Wertheim, Germany. I took a bead lining class and watched many demos. I am married and have one son, age 26. I live in the Santa Cruz Mountains between Los Gatos and Scotts Valley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Summer Color Surprise Blog Hop Reveal

  1. I think my first comment vanished.

    Love how you combined so many elements into a bold visual piece. I’d try it but I’m pretty sure I’d still be tied in knots by the next blog hop.

  2. ingetraud says:

    It was challenging!

  3. Marla Gibson says:

    Ohhhh I love this! Beautiful work! Thank you for the comment on my piece as well. The technique I used was a modified caterpillar. Instead of fringe ends I did tons and tons of loops, but it is basically the same concept. I used a 2 bead wide strip of peyote with the focal in the middle using 6/0 beads and made the loops with 11/0’s and used one of Lisa’s beads in the middle of the loop for the focal. Hope that helps 🙂

  4. Marla Gibson says:

    And I wanted to add the way you put the larger beads on the bottom really helped balance the piece out. I think the colors you have to work with while lovely had to be very very hard. You did a fantastic job!

  5. Pine Ridge Treasures says:

    Inge – What a super cool necklace – I love it! Working with all of those tiny seed beads would drive me nuts – I just don’t have the patience. I love the earthiness of this piece, and the variety of sizes of the beads. Great job! Thanks for participating in the hop.

  6. Michelle says:

    I love the colors your were given. I wish I could sit long enough to create a piece like this. Awesome job.

  7. Kashmira says:

    Those beads would have totally stumped me, you did such an amazing job! Love it!

  8. I totally love this! I have just started doing some off-loom bead weaving so I know this took a lot of work. It’s lovely and you should be so proud of your work. I would wear this all of the time.

  9. Marlene Cupo says:

    Tiny bead weavers have me in awe. I just barely had the patience to string the few I had on my necklace. Fantastic job!

  10. Alicia says:

    Oh, wow – that’s such a goregous necklace! I like how you balanced it perfectly: both in colours and texture/weight.

  11. Gorgeous ! Im not sure I would have known what to do with this set, to be honest. You rocked it !

  12. christine says:

    Gorgeous necklace!! I’m always so impressed when someone can do any kind of beadweaving – this is a stunner!

  13. Lisa Boucher says:

    Wow Inge – That is incredible! Really amazing bead work. You made this mix work so well together. Awesome necklace!

Leave a Reply

